Siirry sisältöön


There is a multitude of types of lymphoma, but lymphomas are generally divided into two main types:

  • non-Hodgkin lymphoma
  • Hodgkin's lymphoma.

The diagnosis is made by examination of a biopsy (tissue sample) of the tumour.

Usually lymphoma is found when the patient visits a doctor's office because of enlarged lymph nodes. The enlarged lymph nodes are not painful or tender. Often they are situated in the neck region, arm pits, supraclavicular fossa or groin. The patient may experience fever, night sweats or weight loss.  

Lymph nodes and lymphatic tissue is also present in

  • the spleen
  • the tonsils
  • the stomach
  • the thymus (a gland situated in front of the heart)
  • the gut 
  • the bone marrow.

Since lymphatic cells are present all over the body, a lymphoma may, in principle, arise almost anywhere. Symptoms depend on where in the body the lymphoma grows.  

The treatment modalities are

  • chemotherapy
  • biologicals
  • radiation treatment 
  • stem cell transplantation.

The treatment plan is always individualized for each patient.

Päivitetty: 13/12/2019 10:00